Kitchen Island Update

beforeafterwp_20160930_005_2

wp_20141029_001_2
Before

 

This is what my Kitchen Island look like before. Really cheap two builders grade 30”inch cabinets and a laminate counter top. Don’t look at the floor, it’s on my list.

From the time we purchased our home we knew that these cabinets had to be changed, but like most people the funds where not there. So I did lots of research and finally came across a design I really liked. Thanks to Justin from Remodelaholic for this: (pictured below).

black-board-and-batten-kitchen-island-makeover-16-2

Of course I changed a few things, I didn’t use beadboard. I know, I know your saying: What do you mean? I’ll get to that. First I started with measurements this is a 60” W x 24” D x 34 ½” H Island. So here is my measurement plan.island-plans

So, from this I created my cut list

island-plans-cut-list

With list in hand, off to Home Depot I go. You got to give it to the guys in orange, they cut everything for me except of course the base moldings. I was able to put this together like a Kit.

First things first, earlier I said that I had made a change from what Justin did. What I did was stop by my neighborhood Lowe’s and picked up allen + roth White Strippable Non-Woven Paper Prepasted Paintable Wallpaper. That’s right, I said wallpaper! You don’t need a whole roll but I purchased two rolls because I had other projects to do. At $15.97 a roll I could not pass it up.

Now that I had all my supplies in place it was time to get to work.

  1. Remove the existing quarter round molding
  2. Thoroughly clean the island (making sure to get rid of any grease).
  3. Measured and cut my wallpaper to size
  4. Follow the Manufacture instructions for installing the wallpaper.wp_20160922_004
  5. Let the wallpaper dry for a good 24 hours.
  6. Now I laid out my kit that I had Home Depot cut for me and started attaching my pieces.wp_20160923_001
  7. Now to measure, cut and install the base molding and quarter round.wp_20160924_001

Looking good if I do say so myself.

  1. Next use your wood filler and fill all the nail holes and any imperfections in the wood. I let this cure for another good 24 hours.
  2. Time to sand. I used 100 grit to smooth out everything.
  3. Now it is time to prime and paint. I love the white look so I went with my favorite Behr Oyster White.

All done, I was going to leave the countertop as it was, but after seeing how nice the base came out, well you know what I had to do next. Move on to the top.

Went back to see my guys in orange and got them to cut me 3 – 2 x 8 x 12 @ 66” inches. This gave me 6 boards at 66” inches each, I only need 5. The 12’ foot boards where 6.68 each.

countertop-measurements

Laid them out, perfect fit.

wp_20160926_003

Looks really good.

  1. So next I attached the two overhang boards together with dowels (you can use a Kreg Jig here).
  2. Now to attach the top. I had some L brackets lying around and that is what I used, but if I remember correctly they cost ~$4.00 for a package of 4 and they come with the screws. I used a total of eight.
  3. After attaching the top, I filled any large gaps with MinWax Stainable wood fillerminwax-wood-filler

And let that dry for 4 hours.

  1. Then I started sanding. I think this is the longest, but most import part of this project.
  2. Ok, all the pre sanding is done. Now I applied a Pre-Stain Wood Conditioner. This is to try avoid blotches in the stain. Flow the manufacturer’s instructions.wp_20160929_001
  3. Now the stain. I did two coats. Long strokes going with the grain of the wood.
  4. After the stain has dried. Start to apply the polyurethane, again in the direction of the grain.

    wp_20160929_010
    This is what it looks like after 3 coats.

I wanted this to not only be water-resistant but shiny. So, I used a glossy poly. I did 3 coats and then lightly sanded to again smooth the surface before the final coat. This is the part you want to cry. (I almost did.) All your hard work and now it looks like this:

wp_20160930_005_2Finally Finished! Ok, not quit yet. Missing the corbels. I’m going to attempt to make them. So I will update this post later.

I hope you enjoyed this post and check back in with me as I continue to work on my home.

One thought on “Kitchen Island Update

Leave a Reply

