2 x 4 Entryway/Console Table

wp_20161021_005

 

Hi everyone, I hope your week so far has been great. I want to share with you my latest project. I have been in need of an Entryway table, something small, not too small. I searching the internet for plans, I found so many, Ana White has a nice Console (Here’s another one by Ana, click here) Table and Roque Engineer has a few nice ones also. So I decided to try to combine the things I liked about these and make it smaller to fit my needs. And this is what I came up with.

This is made with 95% of 2 x 4s, ok more like 98%. I will try to walk you through what I did. Let’s start with the

Supplies
5 – 2 x 4 x 8
1 – 2 x 6 (I had some left from my Island)
1 – 1 x 3 (from wood pile)
2 – 2” Wood Screws
1 – Box of 100 #8 1 ¼ Kreg screws
1 ¼” Nails
L Brackets
Sandpaper
Gorilla Wood Glue
Stain
Paint

Tools

Ryobi Miter Saw
Ryobi Drill
Ryobi Airstrike Nail Gun
Ryobi Sander
Kreg Jig

Cuts
8 – 2 x 4 @ 11 ½” (Top)
1 – 2 x 4 @ 14” (Top)
2 – 2 x 6 @ 14” (Top Wings)
4 – 2 x 4 @ 28 ½” (Legs)
2 – 2 x 4 @ 31 ½” (Front and Back top supports)
4 – 2 x 4 @ 9” (Side supports)
9 – 2 x 4 @ 11 ¾” (Shelf)
1 – 1 x 3 @ 37 ½” (Shelf support)

Dimensions: 41”W x 30”H x 14”D

Ok, you may think this is funny but, I started from the top down. Remember, I was combining several ideas together.

Step 1

step-1

Take your 8 – 2 x 4 @ 11 ½”, attach together 2 sets of 4, using wood glue and Kreg screws.
Now attach the top wings, one to each side in the same matter. And now the 1 – 2 x 4 @ 14”. Set the top aside to dry. Pretty easy huh.

Step 2

step-2
The Legs, take 2 legs turning them so that they lay flat on your work space. Grab 1 side support and attach it to the legs horizontally at the right top left side of the leg. Attach second leg. You should have something that looks like this:

Now take a 2nd side support laying it flat and measure 10 ½” down from the top side support attach the second one. This is not only a brace but part of the shelf also.
Repeat for the other set of legs.

Step 3

wp_20161018_001

Front and Back top supports attach to the legs.

Step 4

wp_20161018_002
Turn your table upside down and center the shelf support attach using wood glue and 2” screws at each end.
Step 5

wp_20161018_003
Space out your shelf pieces and glue. Wait until your glue dries, then turn your table upside down again. Attach with your nail gun.
Step 6

wp_20161018_006_1
Sand everything (top also).

Step 7

Stain and paint.

Step 8

wp_20161021_010
Attach the L brackets to the inside of the legs. Now place the top on and screw the L brackets to the top.

All Done  !! Now to put it where it belongs.

wp_20161021_003

I went to the Dollar Store and picked up a few Baskets, and I didn’t even have to spray paint them. Also, a pumpkin I quickly put together for fall.

I hope you enjoyed my project this week. Have a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

